Announcement: blue iris rhizomes available

Blue bearded iris

Blue bearded iris

Next week, I’ll be taking my blue iris rhizomes out of the ground, about two months late. (Okay, more like three months. Whatever…) These are the irises I’ve used to create the iris green ink, which you can read about here, here, here and here. I don’t know exactly how many I’ve got, but it must be several dozen at least. I only need a dozen to replant, maybe a dozen and a half. So some rhizomes will be available for sale. I don’t know exactly how much I’ll charge, but it won’t be much over what it costs me to box and ship. Not interested in a profit here; just want these little girls to go to a good home! This is an heirloom variety, and even if you’re not interested in making iris green ink, the blooms would be quite beautiful in any garden. If anyone is interested, let me know in a comment to this post, or drop me a line.

Heirloom blue iris rhizomes

Heirloom blue iris rhizomes

Update: I’ve pulled up some of the rhizomes, and they’re prettily awaiting new homes. Lots more where these came from…

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Announcement: blue iris rhizomes available”

  1. sunsikell Says:

    Folks, I’ve got a lot of these. The new pic above shows maybe a sixth of my overall stash of heirloom blue iris rhizomes – maybe a bit less, since I already gave some away. I’m determined not to throw any away if I can possibly help it – these are my babies. I’ll be calling around to nurseries in the area, and if that doesn’t work I’ll be throwing them up on Ebay. If you want some of these cheap (free, really), please let me know! They’ll be okay out of the ground for a week or two (plenty more coming out of the ground next weekend), then they’re gone.

  2. Ron Couch Says:

    I love flowers, but as a senior, on fixed income, I can’t buy any. I’d love to have some of yours. Thanks for a kind heart.

    • sunsikell Says:

      Ron, thanks for posting. I’ll be happy to send you some. Things have gotten away from me a bit this year; but a fresh batch of rhizomes should be out of the ground by the end of this week. When that happens, I’ll get in touch for your contact info and ship them off!

  3. c weaver Says:

    Hello, I would love a few rhyzomes, if you still have some. Please let me know and I will gladly pay postage. Thanks, CW

    • sunsikell Says:

      Hi CW, thanks for posting. I’m not sure if any more are going to come out of the ground this year or not. If they do, I’ll get in touch for your address. – L.

  4. wendyfe Says:

    Thank you so much for this info on making colour from iris! If I may, I would like to refer my readers to your blog in my next post about eco printing/dyeing papers and textiles with natural plant pigments. I have read Daniel Thompson on the use of iris to make green and have been searching online for artists who might have tried the old recipes…incidentally, my tall Bearded Blue Iris bloom only a few weeks in early June (zone 4 USDA garden) so one has to move fast in gathering them. I am collecting them as the flop over or turn to mush then I freeze them. There is some indication that freezing helps the blues release (This works well with blue pansies (if the blues are anthocyanins)

    Wendy

    • llawrence Says:

      Thank you for the comment, Wendy, and sorry for the delay in replying. Interesting about the freezing, I’ll have to try it. I had read that one should NOT freeze indigo leaves, so of course I had to try it. It’s still sitting up in there, one of these days I’ll pull it out and give it a go.

Leave a Reply

