Kauai

UVZ4PKMDSG38

Kauai

Kauai

I’m now a married man, and enjoying it immensely.

We went to Kauai on our honeymoon – there’s something life-interrupting about a marriage, most of the things I would normally be doing this time of year simply didn’t get done, and still aren’t getting done. There’s the matter of this year’s seed order, which never wound up happening (good thing we have a long growing season here in San Diego county, I can still get a few things in the ground, even this late). Another thing is that I simply didn’t get around to researching the island of Kauai before we went, other than to find out that it has great hikes (it does) and lots of waterfalls (that too). But I didn’t find out about the stunning red ochre that is all over the island. The volcanic activity means that a good deal of the geologic makeup of the island is iron, and the iron oxide there in some places looks to be close to pure. It’s amazing.

Kauai red ochre

Kauai red ochre

I didn’t get a really good pic of it, because I was busy, well, being on my honeymoon. You can find plenty of pics by googling “Kauai dirt.” But it’s some of the best stuff I’ve seen. I brought back a (very) small amount after asking whatever spirits might be on the island for their permission. Hey, it can’t hurt, and I figure it’s only polite. My mom raised me right.

There were actually many wonderful sights on the island of which I didn’t get any pictures. I tend to do that – enjoy myself so much that I forget to record the experience. Overall that’s a good thing for me, I’d rather enjoy a place than spend my time taking pictures. But at times I think it would be nice to have more pics afterward, if only because my memory is so bad. I actually took more pictures this time than usual.

Kauai yellow ochre

Kauai yellow ochre

There isn’t much yellow on the island, or wasn’t until we got onto the drier west coast, where we found some on a hike. Here is a pic of me with yellow ochre on my fingers. (This is about where I shouted to my wife, “I found yellow!” She’s so good about humoring me. Check out the ring!)

In any case, at some point I will levigate this Kauai red ochre for what should be a very special natural earth color in my collection. Kauai is a special place. If you go there, be sure to notice the earth among the many other sights. Like much else there, it’s spectacular – and a gift to humanity.

Red and yellow ochre

Red and yellow ochre

It’s good to be back. Now I can try to get my poor garden in order! One more pic of Kauai:

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

